MINUTES LANGHORNE MANOR BOROUGH REORGANIZATION MEETING JANUARY 3, 2022

1. CALL TO ORDER – The meeting of Langhorne Manor Borough Council was called to order in the Langhorne Manor Borough Hall, 618 Hulmeville Avenue, Langhorne, Pennsylvania, on January 3, 2022 at 7:00 P.M. Eastern Standard Time by Mayor Robert Byrne.

Persons Present: Councilpersons Dawn Seader, Nicholas Pizzola, Alicia Gasparovic, Grace Judge, Robert McBeth, James Niwinski and Cheryl Oessenich, Robert Byrne-Mayor, Thomas J. Profy, IV-Solicitor, Jay Ferraro-Borough Manager, Barbara Ferraro-Secretary/Treasurer and John Kenney-Chief of Police.

2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE – The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Councilperson Oessenich.

3. NOMINATION AND ELECTION OF PRESIDENT – Mayor Byrne asked for nominations for Langhorne Manor Borough Council President. Mr. Pizzola made a motion to nominate Dawn Seader as President of Council. Mr. McBeth seconded. Mayor Byrne asked if there were any other nominations. There were none. Ms. Oessenich made a motion to close the nominations. Mr. Niwinski seconded. Mayor Byrne stated Ms. Seader is President.

4. NOMINATION AND ELECTION OF VICE-PRESIDENT – Ms. Seader asked for nominations for Vice-President of Council. Ms. Oessenich made a motion to nominate Nicholas Pizzola. Mr. Niwinski seconded. Ms. Seader asked if there were any other nominations. There were none. Mr. Niwinski made a motion to close the nominations. Ms. Oessenich seconded. Ms. Seader congratulated Mr. Pizzola.

5. APPROVAL OF BANKS, OFFICIALS, COMMISSIONS, AUTHORITIES AND APPOINTMENTS – The Council President asked for approval of the following banks:

<u>First National Bank</u>: General Fund Checking, General Fund Savings, Payroll, Cairn University Escrow, Sewer Department Checking, Sewer Department Savings, Highway Aid Account, Capitol Reserve-Police, Road Improvement Account

PLGIT: PLGIT Sewer Account

Mr. Pizzola made a motion to approve the banks as stated. Ms. Judge seconded. There were no objections. The motion carried.

The Council President asked for approval of the following Officials, Commissions and Appointments:

<u>Planning Commission</u>, 5-Year term: James McMeeking-chair-2022, Steve Yourtee-2023, James Keba-2024, David Stetz-2025, Robert McBeth-2026

<u>Auditors</u>, 6-year elected term, listed for the record: John Brodbeck-chair-2027, Edward Ramsay-2023, Suzanne Cawley-2025

Zoning Hearing Board, 3-year term: Gregory Hertenbrger-Chair-2022, Robert Rickerl-2023, Kevin Oessenich-2024

<u>Higher Education & Health Authority</u>, 5-year term: Robert Rickerl-Chair-2023, David Badgley-2022, William McTigue-2024, Josephine Cloak-2025, Grace Judge-2026

<u>Stormwater Commission</u>: Alicia Gasparovic-Chair, James Keba, Matthew Marion, Kevin Oessenich, Heather Palladino, Lauren Shuke, Fred Tomlinson

Emergency Management Committee: Dawn Seader-Chair, Robert Byrne, Chief John Kenney, James Niwinski, II, Chris Lloyd-Cairn University

Zoning Review Working Group: Kevin Oessenich-Chair, Robert McBeth, Lois Abbott, Jay Ferraro

The Shade Tree Commission will be discussed at the January work session.

Ms. Judge made a motion to approve the Officials, Commissions, Authorities, and Appointments as stated. Mr. Niwinski seconded. There were no objections. The motion carried.

The Council President asked for a motion to approve the following Professional Services:

Constable-6 year elected term, listed for the record-James McMeeking-2027 Fire Marshall-Frank Farry Secretary/Treasurer-2-year term-Barbara Ferraro-2023 Solicitor-Thomas Profy IV, Begley, Carlin & Mandio Borough Manager-Jay Ferraro Building Inspector, Code Enforcement Officer and Plumbing Inspector-Building Inspection Underwriters Electrical Inspector-PA First Inspections Snow Removal-K.E. Seifert Custodian, Outside-Spencer Landscaping Custodian (Borough office, Borough Hall and Police headquarters)-Custom Maid Emergency Management Coordinator (appointed by recommendation of the Governor)-Frank Farry Vacancy Board-James Keba Liaison to Comcast Cablevision and Verizon Communication-Jay Ferraro There were two bids for Borough Engineer which will be discussed at the January regular meeting.

Mr. Niwinski made a motion to approve the Professional Services as stated. Mr. Pizzola seconded. There were no objections. The motion carried.

The Council President asked for a motion to adopt the following Council Committees:

- Dawn Seader, 2022-2025: Police Committee Chair, Newsletter Coordinator, Grants Committee, Special Projects Coordinator, Liaison to Auditors
- Nicolas Pizzola, 2020-2023: Budget Committee Chair, Borough Streets, Snow Removal
- Alicia Gasparovic, 2020-2023: Insurance Issues Coordinator, Grants Coordinator, Shade Tree Commission Liaison, Stormwater Management Coordinator
- Grace Judge, 2020-2023: Website Coordinator, Newsletter Committee, Finance Committee, PLGIT Finance Coordinator
- Robert McBeth, 2022-2025: Planning Coordinator, Zoning Coordinator, Zoning Review Workgroup Liaison, Sub-Division & Land Development
- James Niwinski, 2022-2025: Street Light Coordinator, Borough Grounds Coordinator, Building Maintenance Preservation, Finance Committee
- Cheryl Oessenich, 2022-2025: Refuse & Recycling Coordinator, Sanitary Sewer Coordinator, Newsletter Committee

Ms. Judge made a motion to approve the Council committees as stated. Mr. Pizzola seconded. There were no objections. The motion carried.

The Council President reminded Council that the role of a liaison is to inform Council of committee activity, not to do the work.

6. ADJOURNMENT – The Council President entertained a motion to adjourn the Reorganization Meeting. Mr. McBeth made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Ms. Judge seconded. There were no objections. The motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 7:09 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Barbara T. Ferraro Secretary/Treasurer